7 Farah polling stations to stay closed

FARAH CIY (Pajhwok): Seven polling stations that were opened in the April 5 polls would stay closed in the runoff election due to insecurity in western Farah province, an official said on Thursday.
The decision to keep the polling sites shut was taken in a meeting of Farah Military Council, director of the Independent Election Commission (IEC) told Pajhwok Afghan News.
Mirwais Azizi said increased militants activities forced them to close down another six polling stations in the runoff ballot. The total number of opened polling stations was 153 in the province.
The polling sites to stay shut located in Jija, Mehrabad, Najo, Najo Kochi, Ghorchi and Nangabad areas of Khak-i-Safaid district and another one on the outskirts of the capital city, he added.
Col. Dil Jan Khakrizi, police chief, said they had decided to keep some polling stations closed because of looming militants’ attacks and fear of fraud on Election Day.
The Independent Election Commission (IEC) presented the list of a total 6,423 opened polling stations which needed to be protected on Election Day. However, security officials had said they would be unable to protect 184 polling sites.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.