Add new comment

KABUL (Pajhwok): The Independent Election Commission (IEC) on Saturday issued acknowledgment letters to eighty Wolesi Jirga successful candidates from 18 provinces, at a time when the final results of 17 provinces have not yet been announced.
The successful candidates from Bamyan, Daikundi, Jawzjan, Uruzgan, Kapisa, Zabul, Panjshir, Nimroz, Parwan, Khost, Samangan, Sar-i-Pul, Kunar, Nuristan, Badakhshan, Faryab and Laghman provinces received the victory acknowledgment letters from the IEC today (Saturday).
IEC head Abdul Badai Sayyad said the eighty candidates who received their victory acknowledgment letters from the election body had succeeded with public vote.
He acknowledged problems during the conduct of elections but rejected any deal on public vote in return for money.
He said individuals who had evidence regarding fraud or rigging could refer to the judicial organ concerned.
Abdul Aziz Aryae, head of the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IEC), said those who lost the elections were unhappy but they should not fuel ethnic, linguistic and other issues for their failure.
Niamatullah Karyab, a successful candidate from Kunar province said: “I acknowledge that the elections were full of challenges and problems, but still the masses thronged polling centres and voted for their favorite candidates.”


This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.