The central Daikundi province comprises nine administrative units including the Neily city.
1 – Neily City:
Neily is known as provincial capital of Daikundi province. Previously, Daikundi was part of central Uruzgan province, but it had upgraded to the status of a province nine years ago. Neily city is smaller as compared to provincial capitals of other provinces. The provincial capital could not be developed so far.
2 – Khadir District:
Occupying a total 1,920 square kilometres and comprises 294 villages, Khadir district’s population surges to 83,400 individuals. Agriculture and livestock are the main sources of revenues of the residents. Located in north of Neily, Khadir shares borders with Ashtar Ali and Sang Takht districts.
3 – Ashtar Ali District:
Measuring 1,890 square kilometres area, Ashtar Ali district has 343 villages and its population touches the figure of 88, 340 individuals. It has moderate weather. Its residents are associated with the occupation of agriculture and livestock. Wheat and maize are among agriculture crops of the district. Ashtar Ali lies in north of Bamyan province.
4 – Sang Takht District:
Sang Takht comprises 290 villages that stretch on a total 1, 095 square kilometres area. Population of the province touches the figure of 78, 900 individuals. The district has comparatively cold weather. It shares border with Ghor province. The residents of the district are associated with the profession of agriculture and livestock.
5 – Shahristan District:
Shahristan has 290 villages and its total area is measured around 4, 653 square kilometres. Population of the district stood at around 72, 450 individuals. Sharistan lies in southeast of Ghazni province, in its west Neily, in its east Miramor district with Ashtar Ali district situated in its north.
6 – Miramor District:
Miramor district contains 326 villages. It has a total 1, 921 square kilometres area. Its population is estimated at about 88, 400 individuals. It lies in east of Bamyan province.
7 – Kajran District:
With a total 1, 610 square kilometres land, Kajran district has 326 villages. Its population touches the figure of 73, 800 individuals. The district contains hot weather and shares borders with Helmand and Uruzgan provinces.
8 – Gizab District:
Gizab has 126 villages spread on a total 4,240 square kilometres area. Its population is estimated about 78, 450 individuals. The district has hot weather. It shares borders in south with Uruzgan province.
9 – Kitee District:
The district comprises 196 villages on a total 1,610 square kilometres area. Population of Kitee touches the figure of 64, 900 individuals. It has hot weather. It shares border with Helmand and Uruzgan provinces. The district experiences security problems sometimes.
Security has now been improved in the district but sometimes armed rebels are sneaking into the town through Gizab district.