Including the center, Takhar comprised 17 administrative units:
1.      Center:
Taloqan is the capital city of Takhar Province. The strategic Kunduz-Badakhshan Highway passes through the city. A vast part of the province covered by Kokcha and located at the border of Tajikistan comprised Dasht-e-Qala, Yangi Qala, Darqad, Khaja Bahauddin, Khawaja Ghar and Rostaq Districts.
2.      Dasht-e-Qala:
Dasht-e-Qala district is located 60 kilometers from Taloqan city. It is known as one of the peaceful districts. Residents of the district complained about the presence of armed groups terrorizing and harassing locals. Livestock and agriculture is the income resources of the people and reconstruction projects could not be implemented in the district in large number.
3.      Yangi Qala:
Bangi Qala is located 100 KM meters from Taloqan City and Kokcha Bank River. The people have agricultural lands and work on farms. Their products are wheat, rice, barely and maize. Reconstruction projects are not remarkable in the province.
4.      Darqad:
Darqad is located at a distance of 100- kilometers from Taloqan city. It is the only island located between Kokcha and Amo Rivers. People travel to other parts of Takhar by boat. Darqad is one of the most beautiful districts of Takhar and has dense rainforest and abundant wildlife and tuneful birds. It people work in farms, grow rice, wheat and maize but hundreds of acres of lands damaged due to flooding of Kokcha River every year.
5.      Khawaja Bahauddin:
The district is located at a distance of 8- kilometers from Taloqan city and was the stronghold of Ahmad Shah Masood during Jihad and resistance against Taliban.
 Ahmad Shah Masood was killed on September 9, 2001 by two Arab suicide bombers in the district. Khaja Bahuddin located on Kokcha River. Its people associate with the occupation of livestock, horticulture and agricultural.
6.      Khawaja Ghar:
The district is situated at a distance of 50-kilometers from Taloqan on the border with Dasht-e-Archi district of Kunduz. Khawaja Ghar is relatively insecure and the rebels after attack on Dasht-e-Archi security posts return to Khawaj Ghar district. Most of the people are farmers who cultivate wheat and rice. They also export rice and wheat to other provinces.
7.      Rostaq:
The district is located to the east of Takhar province and 120 kilometers away from Taloqan city. It shares border with Badakhshan province and the people depend on agriculture.
8.      Bangi:
The district is located 60-kilometres away from Taloqan city. To the west of Takhar province it shares border with Khan Abad district of Kunduz province. Bangi is one of the strategic areas. In 1991, bloody fighting occurred between Ahmad Shah Masood and Taliban. The people are engaged in agriculture.
9.      Eshkamesh:
The district is located to the south west of Takhar province with 120- Kilometres from Taloqan city. The district shares border with Khan Abad district of Kunduz province and Borka district of Baghlan province. The people are farmers and breed livestock.
10.    Warsach:
Warsach is located 80-kilometres from Taloqan and considered one of the lush and beautiful districts. Agriculture and horticulture are their income resources. Their products are apple, cherry and pear which are very famous. Warsach shares border with Farang district of Baghlan province, Parian district of Panjsher province and Badakhshan province. It is a peaceful district.
11.   Farkhar: 
The district located 50 kilometres from Taloqan and entirely mountainous. Its people depend on livestock and horticulture. Reconstruction projects have been implemented to some extent with some roads have been paved.
12.   Kalafgan:
The district is located 50- kilometres from Taloqan city. Kalafgan shares border with Badakhsan province and is entirely mountainous. Its people are engaged in agriculture and their products are wheat and rice.
13.    Chahi Aab:
Chahi Aab is located 150- kilometres from Takhar center and its residents are engaged in agriculture. Chahi Aab is located to the east of Takhar and shares border with Badakhshan. A gold mine has also been discovered in the district by Russian experts.
14.   Hazar Somuch:
The district is located 25-kilometres from Takhar Center and is one of the small districts established after Najibullah government in 1981. In the past, Hazar Somuch was part of Taloqan city. Most of the people are farmers and most of its land is rain-fed.
15.   Baharak:
Baharak district located 20- kilometres from Takhar center and is considered one of the peaceful districts. Its people are farmers.
16: Chal:
Chal is located 50- kilometres from Takhar Center and its people associate with the occupation of agriculture.
17. Namak Aab:
Namak Aab district is situated 35- kilometres from Takhar center and the biggest salt mine is located in the district. It is also called Taqcha Khana. According to Ministry of Mines, as many as 75, 000 tons salt has been extracted from the mine and exported to other provinces and out of the country.